Celebrating our Australia Day Honours recipients

24 January 2024

The outstanding contribution of the state’s emergency services personnel has been recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours List.

The Australian Fire Services Medal (AFSM) and Emergency Services Medal (ESM) highlight the achievements of those who have dedicated their lives to helping others, and this year’s recipients come from across the sector.

We extend our gratitude and congratulations to the 10 full-time, part-time, volunteer and auxiliary members of the fire and emergency services who have been recognised:

Australian Fire Service Medal

  • Ms Kathryn Gosby
  • Mr Stephen Roy Grant
  • Ms Paula Louise Grosveld
  • Mr John Katakouzinos
  • Mr Costa Katsikis
  • Mr William Gordon Johnstone
  • Mr Damian Paul O'Toole
  • Mr Ross Michael Sullivan

Emergency Services Medal

  • Mr Stanislaw Jezewski
  • Mr Graeme Charles Hurrell

For the full list of Australia Day Honours for 2024, visit the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia’s website (External link).