The Disaster Ready Fund: Round Two, 2024-25

The application period for the Disaster Ready Fund: Round Two, 2024-25 has now closed. The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) will announce successful applicants in July 2024.

About the Disaster Ready Fund

The Disaster Ready Fund is the Australian Government’s flagship disaster resilience and risk reduction initiative which will fund projects to support Australians to manage the physical, social and economic impacts of disasters caused by climate change and other natural hazards.

The Australian Government has announced that up to $1 billion will be committed through the Disaster Ready Fund over 5 years, from 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2028.

The primary objectives of the DRF are to: 

  1. increase the understanding of natural hazard disaster impacts, as a first step towards reducing disaster impacts in the future
  2. increase the resilience, adaptive capacity and/or preparedness of governments, community service organisations and affected communities to minimise the potential impact of natural hazards and avert disasters, and
  3. reduce the exposure to risk, harm and/or severity of a natural hazard’s impacts, including reducing the recovery burden for governments and vulnerable and/or affected communities.

Applications must be made through state and territory leads. EMV will coordinate applications for inclusion in a single over-arching Victorian application in Round Two.

Application process

Interested organisations should review:

More information

If you have any queries regarding the Disaster Ready Fund we encourage you to contact our coordinating team at (External link).

You can view a range of supporting material on the NEMA DRF Round Two (External link) website.

View EMV’s responses to frequently asked questions.

Successful grant recipients

The Australian Government has awarded Victoria over $26 million in Commonwealth funding from Round One of the Disaster Ready Fund (DRF), ensuring Victoria is better protected and prepared for future national disasters.

The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) will work with each jurisdiction to implement funding agreements with funds to be provided as soon as possible from July 2023. Projects must be completed within 3 years.

You can view the full list of recipients on the NEMA website (External link).