Victorian emergency services recognised in King’s Birthday Honours

13 June 2023

Twelve Victorian emergency services personnel have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to the community in this year’s King’s Birthday Honours List.

The recipients, including representatives from Victoria Police, Country Fire Authority (CFA), Ambulance Victoria, Victoria State Emergency Service (SES) and Volunteer Marine Rescue Mornington and Hastings, were among the 1,191 inspirational Australians celebrated yesterday.

The awards received included:

Medals of the Order of Australia

  • Leslie Kelly (CFA)
  • Detective Senior Sergeant Joy Murphy (Victoria Police)

Australian Police Medals

  • Inspector Matthew Anderson
  • Senior Sergeant Dermot Avon
  • Detective Superintendent Jacqueline Curran
  • Superintendent John Fitzpatrick
  • Assistant Commissioner Christopher Gilbert

Australian Fire Service Medals

  • Captain Dawn Hartog (CFA)
  • Captain Paul Denham (CFA)

Ambulance Service Medal

  • Joanne Wilton (Ambulance Service Victoria)

Emergency Services Medals

  • Royston Kennedy (SES)
  • Edward Lindner (Volunteer Marine Search and Rescue, Mornington and Hastings)

Emergency Management Commissioner Andrew Crisp said these honours are an opportunity to highlight the work of individuals who had gone above and beyond to serve Victorians.

‘This year’s recipients demonstrate the exceptional dedication of our personnel to manage emergencies and protect the Victorian community,’ he said.

‘Congratulations on this well-deserved achievement and thank you for your service.’

View the full list of recipients: (External link)