Emergency services personnel recognised in the 2024 King's Birthday Honours

11 June 2024

Victorian emergency services personnel have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to the community in this year’s King’s Birthday Honours List. 

The awards received included: 

  • Medals of the Order of Australia  
  • Australian Police Medals  
  • Australian Fire Service Medals  
  • Ambulance Service Medal  
  • Emergency Services Medals

Emergency Management Commissioner Rick Nugent said these awards recognise the outstanding accomplishments and dedication each recipient has shown in supporting their communities.

“This year’s recipients demonstrate the exceptional dedication of our personnel to manage emergencies and protect the Victorian community. 

“Congratulations to everyone for your achievements and thank you for the work you've done, and continue to do to support your communities before, during and after emergencies.” 

Emergency services personnel recipients: 

Emergency Service Medal

  • Jim Kokkalos – Victoria SES
  • Grant Bedwell – Port Fairy Marine Search and Rescue
  • Georgie Wettenhall – Woolamai Beach Surf Life Saving Club
  • Joseph Watt – Life Saving Victoria
  • David McKenzie – Life Saving Victoria

Australian Fire Service Medals

  • Nigel Brennan – Forest Fire Management Victoria
  • Chris Hardman – Forest Fire Management Victoria
  • Cory Woodyatt – Fire Rescue Victoria
  • Gregory Keighery – Fire Rescue Victoria
  • Stephen Hicks – CFA volunteer, Pakenham Upper Fire Brigade   
  • Gavin Thompson – CFA  

View the full list of recipients at gg.gov.au (External link)