Emergency services receive Australia Day honours

27 January 2022
Close up on a few pairs of applauding hands.

The emergency management sector is well-represented on the Australia Day Honours List 2022. The prestigious Australian Fire Services Medal (AFSM) and Emergency Services Medal (ESM) awards recognise outstanding Victorians who have dedicated their lives to helping others. This year’s recipients are from:  

  • Country Fire Authority (CFA)  
  • Fire Recue Victoria (FRV)  
  • Victoria State Emergency Service (VICSES)  
  • Life Saving Victoria (LSV)  
  • Port Fairy Marine Rescue Service (PFMRS). 

Successful recipients are full-time, part-time, volunteer, or auxiliary members of fire and emergency services who provide distinguished service.  

AFSM recipients 

  • Mr Brad Quinn (FRV) 
  • Ms Gillian Metz (CFA) 
  • Mr Graeme Higgs (CFA) 
  • Mr John Clarke (CFA) 
  • Mr Wayne Rigg (FRV)  

ESM recipients 

  • Mr Anthony White (VICSES) 
  • Mr Howard Willoughby (PFMRS) 
  • Mr Keith O’Brien (VICSES) 
  • Mr Paul Lunny (LSV) 
  • Ms Raelene Billingsley (VICSES) 
  • Mr Ronald Fitch (VICSES) 
  • Mr Russell Lemke (PFMRS) 

Announcing the Australia Day Honours List, the Governor-General said “It has been a challenging couple of years and the recipients announced today are a reminder and reflection of the richness of spirit, selflessness and good in our community.” 

We extend our gratitude and congratulations to this year’s recipients.