Awards to recognise community resilience now open

19 March 2021

Victorians are invited to enter the 2021 Resilient Australia Awards (RAA), to recognise, promote and celebrate their initiatives to build and strengthen community resilience.  

These awards are part of a national program recognising outstanding efforts which contribute to building safer and more resilient communities. This includes collaboration and innovation in better managing stresses and coping with shocks, to include emergencies and disasters when they occur.

As key examples, last year’s Victorian winners (External link) include:

  • Community Awards - Mallacoota Recovers and for Resilient Central Victoria Rescues, Grows, Cooks and Shares for Food Security
  • Government Award - Heart Safe Communities
  • School Award - Timboon P-12 “STEP UP!”

These winners inspire all of us to build greater disaster resilience in our own communities, and to celebrate achievements which might otherwise go unrecognised.

If you or your organisation has contributed to making the community safer, better connected and prepared for disasters and emergencies, this is your opportunities to enter the 2021 Resilient Australia Awards. 

Entries are invited from individuals and organisations such as not-for-profits, businesses, emergency service personnel, government agencies, schools and other education institutions, and research bodies. Categories include:

  • Business
  • Community
  • Government
  • Local government
  • Schools
  • Photography

Applications will be judged at state and territory level, with winners advancing to become finalists for national judging.

Submissions are now open, and close on 3 June 2021.

To find out more, including how to enter, visit the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience (External link) website.