Australia Day Honours for Victorian emergency services

25 January 2023
An Australian flag held by a person who is a silhouette against an orange sky and calm ocean.

The outstanding contribution of the state’s emergency services personnel has been recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours List.

The Australian Fire Services Medal (AFSM) and Emergency Services Medal (ESM) highlight the achievements of those who have dedicated their lives to helping others, and this year’s recipients come from across the sector.

We extend our gratitude and congratulations to the 11 full-time, part-time, volunteer and auxiliary members of the fire and emergency services who have been recognised:


  • Robert Small - CFA
  • Kenneth Stuart - CFA
  • Captain Mark Cartledge - CFA
  • Captain Michael Rowe - CFA
  • Neil Marshall - CFA
  • Assistant Chief Fire Officer (ACFO) Tony O’Day - FRV 
  • Commander Guy McCrorie - FRV 


  • Matthew Ponsford - LSV
  • David Rylance - LSV
  • Leanne Boyd - VICSES
  • Charlie Debono - VICSES

Emergency Management Victoria Commissioner Andrew Crisp applauded this year’s recipients. 

“It’s been a challenging year for our emergency services, and I’m pleased we can recognise and celebrate their dedication and commitment to keeping our communities safe.” 

For the full list of Australia Day Honours for 2023, visit the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia’s website (External link)