Fire management planning

Members: Link through to the fire management planning members page  (External link)

Fire management planning is how we work to reduce the impact of fire in Victoria.

Fire management planning currently occurs at state, regional and municipal levels. It involves bringing together a range of agencies and organisations to discuss, plan and manage fire with the community. The resulting strategies and plans address fire prevention, preparedness, response and recovery, as well as the environmental and cultural uses of fire.

Victoria also has eight regional strategic fire management strategies that consider the unique diversity and risks in each part of the state.

A further 64 municipal fire management plans draw on the state direction and regional strategy to develop practical plans at the municipal level. Although not stand alone municipalities, the Alpine Resorts across Victoria have undertaken the same fire planning process.

Emergency Management Victoria

The establishment of Emergency Management Victoria is an important step in the journey towards an all hazards, all agencies approach to emergency mitigation planning. Working together allows for a more strategic and integrated approach to fire management planning, and ultimately reduces the occurrence and impact of fire and other emergencies across the state. This means that fire planning broadens out to other emergencies.

Achievements to date in fire management planning along with advancements through landscape planning initiatives and community-centred emergency planning, will form a starting point for improved emergency mitigation planning across Victoria.

Fire management plans

Click below for your regional plan, or follow the links in the local government websites to download your municipal plan.


Geelong (External link) / Queenscliffe (External link)

Surf Coast (External link)

Colac Otway (External link)

Corangamite (External link)

Moyne (External link)

Warrnambool (External link)

Glenelg (External link)

Southern Grampians (External link)


Boroondara (External link)

Knox (External link)

Manningham (External link)

Maroondah (External link)

Monash (External link)

Whitehorse (External link)

Yarra Ranges (External link)


Bass Coast (External link)

Baw Baw (External link)

East Gippsland (External link)

Latrobe (External link)

South Gippsland (External link)

Wellington (External link)


Ararat (External link)

Ballarat (External link)

Golden Plains (External link)

Hepburn (External link)

Hindmarsh (External link)

Horsham (External link)

Moorabool (External link)

Northern Grampians (External link)

Pyrenees (External link)

West Wimmera (External link)

Yarriambiack (External link)


Alpine (External link)

Benalla (External link)

Falls Creek (External link)

Indigo (External link)

Mansfield (External link)

Mitchell (External link)

Moira (External link)

Mt Buller / Mt Stirling (External link)

Mt Hotham (External link)

Murrindindi (External link)

Shepparton (External link)

Strathbogie (External link)

Towong (External link)

Wangaratta (External link)

Wodonga (External link)


Bendigo (External link)

Buloke (External link)

Campaspe (External link)

Central Goldfields (External link)

Gannawarra (External link)

Loddon (External link)

Macedon Ranges (External link)

Mildura (External link)

Mount Alexander (External link)

Swan Hill (External link)


Banyule (External link)

Brimbank (External link)

Darebin (External link)

Hobsons Bay (External link)

Hume (External link)

Maribyrnong (External link)

Melbourne (External link)

Melton (External link)

Moonee Valley (External link)

Moreland (External link)

Nillumbik (External link)

Whittlesea (External link)

Wyndham (External link)

Yarra (External link)


Bayside (External link)

Cardinia (External link)

Casey (External link)

Dandenong (External link)

Frankston (External link)

Glen Eira (External link)

Kingston (External link)

Mornington Peninsula (External link)

Port Phillip (External link)

Stonnington (External link)