List of 2019 Resilient Australia Award winners

29 August 2019

The Resilient Australia Award winners were announced this week, celebrating the best initiatives in building the whole of community resilience to disasters and emergencies around Victoria. 

The winners were announced at an event at the AFAC Conference at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre. 

Deputy Emergency Management Commissioner Deb Abbott was on hand to present the awards, and said the winners were high achievers in their respective communities. 

"There were a range of projects submitted to this year’s awards, but they all shared a common goal, which was to minimise the impacts and consequences of all emergencies" Deb said.

"It’s everyone’s job to build the resilience of the communities we live in.

"The winners of these awards aren’t just high achievers in the resilience area, but role models in their communities."

Check out the list of winners below: 

Resilient Australia Community Award

Long-Term Disaster Resilience - Caroline Spencer, Jaspreet Kaur, Alyssa Duncan, Debra Parkinson

Resilient Australian Government Award

Improving Victoria’s cyber security resilience - Department of Premier and Cabinet (Vic)

Resilient Australia Local Government Award

English and Emergencies, Learn and Prepare - Hume City Council

Resilient Australia Schools Award

A walk through Strathewens Fire history - Andrew Alford, Briony Towers, James Armstrong, Jane Hayward, Lisal O’Brien

Resilient Photography Award

Blair Dellemijn 


 Application name

Team members

 Long-Term Disaster Resilience

 Caroline Spencer

 Jaspreet Kaur

 Alyssa Duncan

 Debra Parkinson



 David Heinrich

 Lisa Hutchins

 Louise Le Nay

 Jo Brown

 Prevention is better than cure: Developing a    bushfire safety film with the Karen  community    of Nhill (Victoria)

 Ms Tha-Blay Sher

 Ms Annette Creek

 Dr Scott Hanson-Easey


Resilient Australian Government Award

 Application name

Team members

 Community-Based Bushfire  Management

 Fiona Macken

 Michelle Kearns

 Kathy Overton

 Birgitte Hutchens

 Karen Whitehurst

 Sue Harley

 Louise Scott

 Sally White

 Sharon Mifsud

 Rebecca Walker

 Improving Victoria’s cyber security resilience


Shane Moffitt

David Cullen

John O’Driscoll


Resilient Australia Local Government Award

 Application name

Team members

 Hume City Council - English and    Emergencies - Learn and Prepare

 Maria Loriente

 Tina Georgiev

 Martha Martin

 Van Tastic - Community Led Recovery  Initiative

 Mat Deans

 Sue Rondeau

 Resilient Emergency Action Plan (REAP)  Day  Program for Alpine Shire Schools

 Susan Sheldrick

 Jenny Corser

 Karen van Huizen


Resilient Australia School Award

 Application name

Team members

 A walk through Strathewens Fire history

 Andrew Alford

 Briony Towers

 James Armstrong

 Jane Hayward

 Lisal O’Brien

 TAP into Bushfires

 Robyn Vale

 Anne Moriarty

 Julia McMeel

 Davin Reid

 Andrea Vallance